New Big Ten logo
This is the new logo for the Big Ten.

Three Purdue alumni have been honored by having one of the new Big Ten football trophies named in their honor.

The Big Ten announced the naming of 14 annual awards starting in 2011 on Monday. The announcement came alongside the naming of the two divisions that will apply to football only – Leaders and Legends.

The “Griese-Brees Award” will go to the conference’s Quarterback of the Year. It is named in honor of Bob Griese who played at Purdue from 1964 to 1966. Drew Brees played for the Boilermakers in the 1997 to 2000 season. Both quarterbacks led their teams to the Rose Bowl and both took their teams to the NFL’s Super Bowl.

The “Tatum-Woodson Award” will be given to the Defensive Back of the Year in the Big Ten. Jack Tatum, a consensus All-America in 1969 and 1970 played at Ohio State from 1968 to 1970. Rod Woodson, played at Purdue from 1983 to 1986. He was a three-time All Big Ten selection for the Boilers and played on two Super Bowl champions was named to 11 Pro Bowls.


Recommended for you